Celiac Research Paper

Tags: Argumentative Essay ElementsTrigonometry Homework HelpThesis Printing And Binding GlasgowEssay Concerning Human Understanding John Locke Full TextResearch Paper Working WomenPaper And Plastics Education Research Foundation Scholarship ProgramDo All Colleges Require EssaysBusiness Plan Wedding Planner

Gluten-Free Diet The objective of this study is to examine the importance and benefit of a gluten-free diet.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley that results in intestinal damage including weight loss and nutrient deficiencies in those with gluten intolerance.

Oats do not contain gluten, but have the risk of cross-contact during harvesting or processing.

Common Sources of Hidden Gluten (This is not a complete list.) Baked beans Flavoring Marinades Seasonings Blue cheese crumbles French fries Meat loaf Self-basting poultry Breading Gravy Nuts Soups, soup bases Broth, bouillon Herbal Teas Processed meat Soy sauce Candy Ice cream Puddings Stuffing Cereal binding Icing/frosting Rice mixes Thickeners Chocolates Imitation seafood Roux Vegetarian "burgers" Color (artificial, caramel) Imitation bacon Salad dressings Communion wafers Licorice Sauces Dry roasted nuts Maltodextrin Sausage Sample Gluten-Free Shopping List Vegetables Lettuce Tomatoes Cabbage Carrots Broccoli Potatoes Celery Fruits Apples Oranges Bananas Grapes Meat, Proteins Beef Chicken Fish Eggs Pork Turkey Shrimp Dairy Milk* Cheddar cheese Cream cheese* Butter Yogurt* Cottage cheese* Sour cream Binders (for baking) Xanthan gum Guar gum Tapioca Frozen Foods Berries Corn Sorbet Gluten-free waffles Mangoes Peas Canned and Packaged Foods Peaches Pears Green beans Dried beans Gluten-free Grains Rice* (all forms, even glutinous) Amaranth Buckwheat Soy Quinoa Arrowroot Potato flour, starch Teff Millet Bean flours (garbanzo, fava) Sorghum Tapioca (manioc, cassava) Corn Snacks Popcorn* Corn chips* Nuts and seeds* Jello Rice cakes, rice crackers* Potato chips* Condiments Honey Jams, jellies, marmalade Herbs Pickles Ketchup Corn and maple syrup Salt Vinegars Mustard Sugar Pepper Regular mayonnaise and salad dressings* Peanut butter Spices Olives Vegetable oils Drinks Fruit juice Coffee Tea *With no gluten-containing additives.

Rye is generally not utilized as a food additive; (3) Oats -- this is inclusive of all products containing oats (to include oat flour, oat bran and oat gums).

Celiac Research Paper The Format Of A Research Paper

There are various sources of uncontaminated oats available and a dietitian or gastroenterologist should be consulted on the safe introduction of oats. Common Processed Foods that Contain Wheat, Barley or Rye Reported as common processed foods containing wheat, barley, or rye include the following stated foods: Bouillon cubes Matzo Sweeteners Seasoned rice mixes Candy Soy sauce and marinades Cold cuts, hot dogs sausages salami Seasoned tortilla/potato chips French fries Self-basting turkey Gravies and sauces Soups and soup bases Imitation fish and imitation bacon Trail mixes Malted Products Panko (Japanese bread crumbs) Cereals (including rice and soy varieties) Energy bars and supplements Meat and dairy substitutes Flavored beverages (Massachusetts General Hospital, 2013) III.(4) Be sure to clean counter tops and cutting boards regularly to remove crumbs containing gluten; (5) Store foods that are gluten-free above foods containing gluten in the refrigerator or pantry; (6) Use pure spices rather than using blends; (7) When baking with flours containing gluten, put foods away or cover gluten-free foods when baking as flour dust can float in the air and contaminate gluten-free products; and (8) Avoid purchasing staples from bulk bins. Proper Nutrition for Individuals With Celiac Disease It is important that individuals with celiac disease get enough vitamin D, Iron, Calcium, and Vitamin B, as well as fiber while adhering to a gluten-free diet.The following list contains gluten-free products in those categories: Calcium -- milk, yogurt, cheese, sardines and salmon with bone, broccoli, collard greens, almonds, calcium-fortified juice, amaranth, teff, quinoa.(Jackson, 2013) if an individuals' close relatives have a specific gene then there are more likely to get celiac disease at some point in their life.Jackson (2013) states that it is important that "nine out of ten people with celiac disease do not know they have it.Celiac disease is a serious, genetic autoimmune disorder triggered by consuming a protein called gluten, which is found in wheat, barley and rye.When a person with celiac eats gluten, the protein interferes with the absorption of nutrients from food by damaging a part of the small intestine called villi.(Jackson, 2013, paraphrased) the small bowel is the primary area of injury in celiac disease however, it is believed that a relationship exists between what occurs in the small bowel and the colon also known as the large bowel.Large numbers of bacteria are present in the colon and the majority of these are beneficial bacteria.(Anderson and Roach, 2009) The following list is a partial list of gluten containing foods, which the individual with Celiac Disease should avoid.Figure 2 -- Gluten Containing Foods le Durum Lager Seitan Atta Einkorn Malt Semolina Autolyzed yeast Emmer Malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar Soy sauce Barley (pearl, flakes, flour) Farina Malted milk Spelt Beer (gluten-free beer is available) Faro/Farro Matzoh Triticale Brewer's yeast Fu Modified food starch Wheat Bulgur Gluten, gluten flour Oats* Wheat bran Chapatti Graham flour Orzo Wheat flour Couscous Hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein Rye Wheat germ Dinkel Kamut Seasoning Wheat starch *Those labeled gluten-free are fine.

SHOW COMMENTS

Comments Celiac Research Paper

The Latest from granarts.ru ©